Wilderness of Mirrors

Screenshot 2014-02-18 14.20.12

9-11 has a secret back-story that started at the Tower of Babel and continues into the War on Terror. There is a reason they attacked our skyscrapers…

“A considerable achievement… powerful and elegant… morally complex and challenging. [Wilderness of Mirrors] is about the events of 9-11 and the War on Terror, but of course it’s also about many other topics… the novel provides a scathing critique of the CIA and the NSA.”

— David Huddle, former military intelligence specialist and author of My Immaculate Assassin. 

The darkly fantastic story of the secret history behind the World Trade Center, Tian-ah-men Square, and the CIA’s misadventures in Vietnam. The story begins in the horrific aftermath of 9-11, and loops through the history of one man’s dangerous collaborations with powers he barely understands, and can never hold in check.

Peter Fisher becomes a homeless vet after one last disastrous Iraq mission, but over the next ten years, he’s irrevocably led back to the truth of the War on Terror and Guantanamo, and what his dangerous knowledge created. 

Now he will undertake one last journey to the desert — to the Burj Khalifa in Dubai, where he will confront the consequences of his own horrific mistakes.

To get early notification when the book is published, Subscribe to the newsletter >>  


I asked the dying man how it all went so wrong. With no emotion in hisvoice, but with his hand trembling, [CIA spymaster James] Angleton replied:“Fundamentally, the founding fathers of U.S. intelligence were liars…Outside of their duplicity, the only thing they had in common was a desire for absolute power. I did things that, in looking back on my life, I regret. You know,the CIA got tens of thousands of brave people killed… We played with lives as if we owned them… You were in a room full of people that you had to believe would deservedly end up in hell.” Angleton slowly sipped his tea and then said, “I  guess I will see them there soon enough.”

 – Joseph Trento, The Secret History of the CIA


Published in 2016 in four serial sections, Wilderness of Mirrors is in the tradition of fantasy master Tim Powers‘ supernatural spy novel DECLARE.





Wilderness of Mirrors: Recalled to Life         (Book 1)

Wilderness of Mirrors: The Heedless Ones   (Book 2)

Wilderness of Mirrors: A Secret Storm          (Book 3)

Wilderness of Mirrors: Mountain of Fire       (Book 4)

Wilderness of Mirrors: Omnibus                    (Books 1-4)

Wilderness of Mirrors - Nick Hallum  Wilderness of Mirrors - Nick Hallum  Wilderness of Mirrors - Nick Hallum  Wilderness-4

To get early notification of publication, Subscribe >>