Small-WritingSo I’m featured on this FREE webcast thing about “Making Things Up” and “Pretending” (also known as Writing Books) on TUESDAY MARCH 4 — you should join me!

 

You can go behind the scenes with historical fiction, and learn how I write in a totally different voice (and we’ll talk about some other writers you admire and how they do it too!)

 

Here’s the schedule — for West Coast people, it starts at 5 pm.

 

Right after work!

http://theavocadosisterhood.com/teleseminar-schedule/

 

Dial-in Number: (712) 432-3100 / Conference Code: 396015

Tuesday, March 4:   NED HAYES 

8:00–9:00 PM (EST) / 7:00–8:00 PM (CST) / 6:00–7:00 PM (MST) / 5:00–6:00 PM (PST)

“CRAFTING A VOICE : How to Be Someone Else in Your Prose & Poetry”

“Writing is the act of pretending to be someone you are not,” asserts Ned Hayes, the male 20th-century author of the novel Sinful Folk, narrated by a 14th-century woman. Ned will share the story behind the story: his techniques for writing as someone else and important considerations like cultural appropriation, authenticity, and what it means to be “true” in your writing. Writers on the block for this interactive discussion include Alice Walker, C.S. Lewis, and Maxine Hong Kingston. Come prepared with your own list of fiction writers/poets whom you admire for having effectively created characters/speakers unlike themselves, as well as your challenges in fleshing out authentic characters/personas. Let’s compare biography and storytelling!